Vegan & Vegetarian Certifications

certified-vegan-fullscript

Vegan Action

Vegan Action certifies individual products that do not contain animal ingredients or animal by-products, do not use animal ingredients or by-product in the manufacturing process, and are not tested on animals. Although recognized worldwide, certification is only available to manufacturers located in the United States, US territories, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

Product Certification

The Vegan Action certification process aims to guarantee that each product is vegan. To receive certification, products must not contain:

  • Meat, fish, fowl
  • Animal by-products, eggs or egg products, milk or milk products
  • Honey or honey bee products
  • Insects or products from insects such as silk or dyes
  • Sugar filtered with bone char
  • Leather, fur, silk, feathers, down, bone, horn, shell, wool, cashmere, shearling, angora, animal skin, suede, or mohair (or be sourced from these)
  • Beer, wine, maple syrup, and fruit juices may not be filtered, defoamed, or clarified with animal products
  • Any animal-derived GMO’s or animal-derived genes used to manufacture ingredients or finished product

In addition, products must not have involved animal testing of ingredients or finished products and acceptable measures must be taken to minimize cross-contamination between vegan and non-vegan products during manufacturing (i.e., sanitizing all surfaces, vessels, utensils, and machinery between production cycles).

For further information, visit the Vegan Action website.

The Vegan Society Trademark

The Vegan Society offers a third-party certification based on their international standards for vegan products. This certification, available to any company that produces vegan-friendly products, ensures the validity of vegan claims.

Product Certification

While the Vegan Society trademark is offered to any manufacturer of vegan products, certification must be obtained for each individual product to verify the exclusion of animal ingredients, including those not present in the final product. Audits may be carried out for products that are at a high-risk for cross contamination with non-vegan ingredients.

To obtain and maintain certification, ingredients and products must:

  • Not contain animals (vertebrates and multicellular invertebrates), animal product, by-product or derivatives
  • Not contain Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) produced with animal genes or animal-derived substances
  • Not be tested on animals during the development and manufacturing process
  • Be produced using proper kitchen and hygiene standards, taking reasonable steps to avoid cross-contamination with non-vegan products

For further information, visit the Vegan Society website.

VegeCert

VegeCert is a non-profit organization that offers third-party certification for vegan and vegetarian products, including food and dietary supplements.

Product Certification

VegeCert certification involves review of ingredients including sourcing, as well as review of  the manufacturing facility, production process, and cleanup protocols. Physical audits, performed by the Kosher Council (COR), may be required.

“Certified vegan” products must not:

  • Contain or use animals, animal by-products (i.e., eggs, dairy), animal-derived additives, slaughter by-products or any other animal-derived products at any point in the manufacturing process for ingredients or the finished products
  • Be produced using proper kitchen and hygiene standards, taking reasonable steps to avoid cross-contamination with non-vegan products

“Certified vegetarian” are certified according to the same criteria as vegan products, however vegetarian products may contain:

  • Dairy ingredients
  • Egg ingredients
  • Bee products
  • Shellac

For more information and a full list of vegan/vegetarian certification standards, visit the VegeCert website.

American Vegetarian Association

The American Vegetarian Association (AVA) offers certification programs for vegetarian and vegan products in order to help consumers make accurate food choices. Vegetarian products may contain eggs or dairy, while vegan products can not not contain any animal products or animal by-products.

For further information, visit the American Vegetarian Association website.